P1040161

Tarte tatin–an apple upside-down pie–is a classic French dessert. But the same idea can work well with other things. Especially tomatoes, so bountiful in summer.

The beauty of this tarte, besides being beautiful, is that it’s good cold. So you can make it ahead.

This isn’t so much a recipe as a procedure. It works very well with cherry tomatoes, and you can play with different colors or all the same. I didn’t have quite enough cherry tomatoes, so I sliced a pretty yellow “ananas” (pineapple) variety to fill in. Remember, the bottom is what you see.

Tomato Tarte Tatin

3 cups of cherry tomatoes (enough to cover the bottom of a pie pan)

2 onions, sliced thinly

2 cloves of garlic, minced

2 teaspoons of fresh thyme

1/2 cup black olives, sliced

olive oil, salt, pepper

2 tablespoons of red wine vinegar

a pie crust (not in the pan but rolled up, if you’re buying premade)

Make your pie dough. I wasn’t thrilled with how it turned out, so you’re on your own for that recipe. Pre-made works just fine.

P1040151
Showing off my awesome pastry board that was made for me when I was born (!!!) by my great-uncle. That’s some baby gift, eh? And it’s been useful for a very long time.

While the dough is chilling/resting, assemble the insides. Preheat your oven to 425 degrees.

P1040133Gently brown the onion and garlic in the olive oil. This works best if you have a pie pan that can go on the stove. My range is induction, and this metal pan works on it. That means all the caramelized goodness stays there. If you have a glass or ceramic pie dish, that’s OK–you just have to transfer the onions to it–you can put them on top of the tomatoes, which is prettier anyway.

P1040138

Sprinkle on the olives, thyme, salt and pepper. Deglaze the pan with a couple of tablespoons of red wine vinegar.

Arrange the tomatoes.

P1040145

Cover with the pie crust, tucking it down around the sides.

P1040154

Bake for about half an hour–until the crust is brown.

P1040160

Serving tip: Leave it in the pan like this until you’re ready to serve. Otherwise, all the tomato juices will soak into the crust, making it soggy. Place a plate over the pan and flip when you’re ready to take it to the table.

 

14 thoughts on “Tomato tarte tatin

  1. Really pretty!
    Guess what ? I have a very similar bard..many many years ago..maybe 25..a friend at the time who was Croatian..invited me to her auntie’s home to learn how to make some Christmas Croatian treats.They used a board w/ a lip at the front going down to kind of anchor it on the counter and a lip..going up at the back..slightly taller.

    When I came home I told my husband I loved it..he made one for my friend and one for me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bonjour! Greetings from Castles Crowns and Cottages/Les Dames D’abord/ etc…!

    First of all, this tarte spells out French summer love so much to me. There is nothing like the fresh and tangy marriage of these ingredients, and of course, huile d’olive de bonne qualité!

    Thank you so much for visiting my blog post. I really appreciated your comment AND I have to say that your comment really confirmed something very important for me. About three years ago now, I took my first poetry class which led to more classes, then more serious, lonely writing. My instructor is British, and she always said to avoid being “twee.” Since then, I have been very aware of this, but did not actually know if I was being too twee in some of my private writings that I share with my husband and poetry group. After I read your comment, I rejoiced in the fact that first of all, someone understood what twee means AND that you mentioned my writing was not twee. THANK YOU! I think the trick is to avoid clichés and to allow honest imagery in one’s discourse to lead the story. Oh, art is a constant lesson, isn’t it?

    Mille mercis, and enjoy a fabulous, French summer day! Anita Rivera

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I usually make it as an appetizer, so one is enough for 8-10 people. You don’t want them to get full with the first course! If it were to be a light meal on its own, it wouldn’t serve more than 4.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.