Sunset brightest
Good weather in the morning. All the photos are untouched.

“Oh, look!” the Carnivore exclaimed, pointing out the window. He took a picture with his phone.

 

Not content with a photo that would include street lamps, electric wires and the rooftops across the street, I grabbed my point-and-shoot and ran (yes!) UP THE HILL to get a clear shot at crimson glory.

Sunset over vines
En route. This is where the hill starts going up and I paused to catch my breath. Would I beat the sunset? See the village lights–the ones I was running away from?

If the photos are shaking, it’s because (1) I didn’t haul along a tripod and (2) my entire body heaved as I tried to catch my breath. #outofshape

Sunset almost gone
Hanging on for the last rays

I realized how little I get out after dark. At least on foot. I’m missing out. The wind had calmed, the world had calmed. It was wonderful.

Pyrenees sunset
More promise of good weather, at least for a while: the peaks of the Pyrénées peek out.

“Every sunset brings the promise of a new dawn.”

–Ralph Waldo Emerson

Moulin sunset

 

 

5 thoughts on “Red sky at night, shepherd’s delight

Leave a Reply

